Chocolate is our favorite, and we can munch on all the different brands with different ingredients. But gluten in chocolates can be tricky to identify. It all depends on the type of chocolate and the ingredients used in making that chocolate. Pure chocolates are made up of cocoa solids, butter and sugar, and sometimes vanilla, and are gluten-free. That can result in the development of gluten-continent ingredients like wheat flour and barley malt.

So in today’s blog, we will answer your question: is chocolate gluten-free? It is essential to check the manufacturing and cross-contamination process to understand whether the chocolate is gluten-free. You can also check the same by putting gluten-free on the label or checking the manufacturing process.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein that is found in many grains like barley and wheat. Many people can digest gluten without experiencing any issues, while others can have a condition called celiac, which makes it difficult to digest. That can make gluten and its products like gluten chocolate sensitive to these people.

This gluten can cause an immune reaction in people with celiac conditions like diarrhea, nutritional deficiencies, and fatigue. Others that have gluten sensitivity can experience bloating and nausea or eating disorders.

Also, Read Is too much chocolate bad for Health?

Why are people opting for gluten-free chocolates?

There can be different reasons for following a gluten-free diet if it can be associated with an eating disorder, medical conditions, or diet restriction, but who are we kidding? Why leave chocolate behind? These sweet treats are not for going, and determining whether they are gluten-free can be a task, so let’s see how to check for gluten in chocolate.

Is chocolate gluten-free?

Without any doubt, you can consume gluten-free chocolates without needing to replace them if they are pure or made up of refined products like cocoa beans and cocoa butter. However, it is rare for people to eat pure chocolates because pure chocolate can taste too bitter, which can be difficult for many people to handle.

Therefore, some of the higher-quality chocolates in the market have cocoa beans, butter, and sugars. These bars are considered gluten-free chocolates and can be consumed by people worldwide without any gluten allergies.

Many chocolate bars contain at least 10-15 percent of milk, vanilla, and soy lecithin. This chocolate can not be described as gluten-free. Sometimes emulsifiers and flavoring are added to the chocolate to increase its taste and texture. Some of these ingredients can contain gluten.

Crispy chocolate is often made with wheat or barley malt containing gluten. Avoid those chocolates if you only eat gluten-free foods. Sometimes chocolates can also have rice crackers. They should also be avoided.

Sometimes chocolate bars can be included in gluten-free cookies or chocolate made with gluten-free ingredients that should be avoided by those that are on a gluten-free diet, and some common elements that should not be on the labels while buying gluten-free chocolates are-

  • Barley and its malt
  • brewer’s yeast
  • durum
  • graham flour
  • Malt, extract, and flavoring
  • malt syrup
  • matzo
  • rye flour
  • wheat flour

Even if the chocolate has no gluten ingredients, these chocolates can become cross-contaminated if there is a reprocess in the facility that produces gluten-containing foods. That occurs when gluten particles are transferred from one object to another and can increase the risk of exposure and adverse side effects due to being unable to tolerate gluten.

Also, Read 5 Reasons to Love Dark Chocolate

What are some gluten-free chocolate bars that you can try?

gluten-free chocolate bars that you can try

Some gluten-free chocolate bars that you can try are,

1. Alter eco-

This brand is based in San Francisco and contains gluten-free flavors like dark salt and malt and gluten-free certification from gluten-free certifications. Altereco can have the certifications, but there can be differences in their chocolate versions. Thus, it is essential to check the labels before buying the product.

2. Dagoba Chocolate-

This chocolate brand is a division of Hershey’s and can be delivered to your doorsteps. But you should always check the labels of the chocolates and check if the product is less than 20 parts per million, which can be best in forming these gluten-free chocolates.

3. Dove Chocolates-

Dove Chocolate is a division of Mars confectionery and gluten-free chocolate. All their products are gluten-free except their cookies and cream flavors. These chocolates are produced at different locations. Thus, there can be chances of cross-contamination. Though they are certified, contacting the vendors to deliver the best chocolates to the doorstep will be best.

4. Nestle-

Nestle makes various products that can be considered gluten-free if labeled as gluten ingredients and if there is any risk of developing gluten cross contaminations. These gluten-free chocolates contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. The brand was acquired by Hershey’s, specializes in dark chocolates, and offers milk chocolate bars.

5. Hershey’s chocolate-

According to the brand, Hershey chocolates are extra dark chocolate bars with the risk of gluten in cross-contamination due to shared facilities or types of equipment that can be due to equipment that will include that can be easy to determine which specific products include those ingredients. 

Hershey’s makes many different chocolates that are only considered to be 20 parts per million or less, and they can be related to the chocolate bar and can be in the form of nuggets. Hershey’s is considered gluten-free.

6. Enjoy life

Enjoy Life is a well-known brand that is an allergen-free food and can make three different chocolate bars, dark chocolate, rice milk, and rice milk crunch. Enjoy life products that can be made in a dedicated gluten-free facility. These products are free of 14 common allergens, including dairy and tree nuts, peanuts and eggs, soy fish, shellfish, wheat, and gluten.

7. Endangered species chocolate-

Endangered species chocolate can make all-natural and organic chocolates with illustrations of endangered animal species that are gluten-free and GFCO. It can mean products containing less than parts per million of gluten.

According to endangered species allergens statements, all of their products share equipment on shared equipment that processes products containing milk, peanuts, and gluten-free tree nut products. Though we have mentioned some products here, it is essential to note that you must do your due diligence to ensure that the products you are consuming do not have any gluten in them. 

Also, Read Heart Healthy Benefits of Dark Chocolate


While pure chocolates are difficult to find in the market as they are made with roasted cacao beans and in a gluten-free manner. Many chocolate products on the market have gluten-containing ingredients or are cross-contaminated. These can become difficult for people with celiac conditions or gluten sensitivity. 

We recommend you read the label’s problems and only front the sources with certified gluten-free products that are the key to avoiding adverse health effects. So in this blog, we have answered the question, is chocolate gluten-free? If you have consumed any product that has gluten and you need attention, it will be best to get in touch with our doctors and get the necessary help that you might need.


Is Cadbury chocolate gluten-free?

Though most of the chocolate on the market has some gluten, one should check their labels to learn more.

How to check if chocolates are gluten-free?

To check if chocolates are gluten-free, read the labels and the manufacturing processes.

What chocolates are 100% gluten-free?

Nestle and Hershey's chocolate are gluten-free. But read their labels and check with your doctors before consuming them.