Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty

Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty Crediplus

MBBS, MS - General Surgery, Fellowship

Chairman & Senior Consultant - Cardiac Surgery

Pediatric Cardiac Surgeon, Cardiac Surgeon

30 Years of Experience

3 Awards

feedback Write feedback

Fees: INR 400

(See all timings)

Sat09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Fri09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Thu09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Wed09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Tue09:00 am - 06:00 pm

Mon09:00 am - 06:00 pm

About Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty

Dr. Devi Prasad Shetty is a cardiac surgeon and the chairman and Founder of Narayana Health, a chain of 21 medical centers in India. In his three decades in the profession, Dr. Shetty has conducted more than 15,000 heart surgeries—including India’s first neonatal cardiac surgery in 1992—and held the distinction of serving as Mother Teresa’s personal physician. In 2003, he also designed the world's cheapest comprehensive insurance scheme, Yeshasvini Co-operative Farmer’s Health Care Scheme, which provides cover to poor farmers across 805 surgical procedures for just Rs 18 every month. For his service, Dr Devi Prasad Shetty received the country’s Padma Shri in 2004 and Padma Bhushan in 2012. he has performed Asia’s first dynamic cardiomyoplasty operation to strengthen the weak heart muscle using the chest wall muscle. He also aims for his hospitals to use economies of scale, to allow them to compl... .. read more


    Medical School & Fellowships

  • MBBS - Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore
  • MS - General Surgery - Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore
  • Fellowship - Royal College of Surgeons


  • Cardiac Surgery, Chairman & Senior Consultant- Narayana Institute of Cardiac Sciences, Bommasandra , currently working
  • Cardiac Surgery, Senior Consultant- Manipal Hospitals, Bangalore
  • Cardiothoracic Surgery, Consultant- BM Birla Hospital, Kolkata

Awards and Achievements

  • Padma Bhushan for Medicine, 2002
  • Karnataka Ratna, 2001
  • Entrepreneur of the Year by ET Awards, 2012

You might also be interested in

Similar Doctor Profile

Dr. Ravi M N
Dr. Ramesh Seshadri
Dr. Avery Mathew
Dr. Priyankar Sinha
Dr. Ravindra Setty B R

Narayana Institute of Cardiac Sciences, Bommasandra

Health City, 258/A, Bommasandra Industrial Area, Anekal Taluk, Hosur Road, Bangalore, Karnataka, 560099, India

1st consult Free Hospital List
click here to know more